Saturday, September 26, 2020

Review: Something Happened to Ali Greenleaf

Something Happened to Ali Greenleaf Something Happened to Ali Greenleaf by Hayley Krischer
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I just finished Something Happened to Ali Greenleaf by Hayley Krischer, and it left me thinking about all the girls who’ve been victims of rape and all the misery that comes after; the misplaced anger, the shame, guilt, self-doubt … all from someone else’s vicious actions. Every painful emotion on the painful emotion spectrum is laid open and raw and why? Because that girl dared to have a drink at a party, wore her skirt too short or maybe she thought that a kiss should stop at a kiss? The victim is often shamed into silence before they even have a chance to speak.

Hayley brought Ali’s story to life in a way that felt real, like it could have been any one of our stories. She explores the complexities of relationships but hones in on female relationships and just how misdirected loyalties can become in the mass confusion of gossip and rumor, the quest for acceptance when you haven’t quite figured out just who you are yet. She also shows the positive supportive side of female friendships and the strength that can be found there. The sharing of experiences that can bond and help heal.
While the story itself is one of inspiration, strength and redemption, the main focus is on the rape culture and the stigma attached to the brutality of rape – remarkably still present in this century. I think this is a powerful novel that should be read by everyone.

The quote below is of Ali’s inner dialogue while her best friend pushes her to report her rapist, her thoughts and the fear of having her life destroyed despite the prominence of the #metoo and #girlstoo movement:

“But I’ve seen to many news stories, too many articles, to know that in real-life situations, girls don’t get the chance to defend themselves. Especially not when it comes to the captain of the soccer team.” “My whole life is on the line here, that she can’t tell anyone because if she tells even one person, my whole life is going to explode. That Sean Nessel will ruin my life.”

I would like to point out to readers to please read Hayley’s epilogue! It is moving, insightful, and courageous.
5 stars for this insightful and meaningful novel. Thank you to Penguin Teen and Hayley Krischer for gifting me a DRC in exchange for my review.

CW: Rape, drug/alcohol use

View all my reviews

Friday, September 25, 2020

Review: Sanctuary

Sanctuary Sanctuary by Paola Mendoza
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

“His pain hit me harder and deeper than anything I had felt in my life. And yet I kept nodding. We were all doing the best we could. Trying to survive.”

Sanctuary by Paola Mendoza and Abby Sher is absolutely soul-crushing, primarily because although it’s a dystopian fiction, I can see the utter reality in this story. There are frightening realities that hit way too close to home and what’s been happening in the world today.

Vali, her 8-year-old brother, Ernie and her mother live in Vermont in the not too distant future of 2032. The US has cracked down hard on undocumented immigration and has installed microchips in to all documented citizen. Vali and her family have counterfeit chips and when Vali’s moms chip starts to malfunction, she and Ernie have to make the frightening trip across the country – on foot - to her Tia Luna’s home in California, currently a safe state and ‘walled’ off.

Mendoza writes about the power and brutality of the Deportation Force and the struggle of undocumented immigrants, she focuses on real people, not statistics that are easily sweep under the rug. The presence of labor camps where the ‘illegals pay off their debt to America’ is absolutely horrifying and reminiscent of the forced labor camps across Europe during WWII. Microchipping citizens seems like a far away concept but is it really? Sanctuary gave me a lot to think about, not only the strength of one young girl fighting to save herself and her brother but of just how realistic this dystopian fiction felt to me. It also shows the deception of the media, showing citizens (or not showing) what the government wants us to see. I must admit, this had a terrifying lifelike reality to me, especially in light of recent world events.

Sanctuary is a page-turner, and as I said earlier, it is all the more chilling for the fact that if feels all too possible. I’m hopeful for the prospect of a sequel because I don’t think Vali’s story is quite finished yet.

My thanks to G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers, Penguin Teen, and authors Paola Mendoza and Abby Sher for providing me this DRC in exchange for my honest review.

View all my reviews

Thursday, September 24, 2020

Review: The Inheritance Games

The Inheritance Games The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

“Was wanting to feel something other than awful really so wrong? ‘Everyone’s a little wrong sometimes, Heiress”

Avery Grambs has had it pretty rough but when billionaire Tobias Hawthorne dies and leaves her his fortune, she can’t believe her good luck but what’s the catch? Besides not having a clue who Tobias is or why he’d even consider leaving his fortune to her, Avery finds out that she must move into the Hawthorne House. Ah, and herein lies the rub! Every room a puzzle and a riddle but there’s another catch, Tobias left behind four very smart and very unhappy grandsons, each with their own issue with Avery inheriting what they thought was their fortune. It’s not long before someone is trying to murder her but who?

This is the most fun I’ve had reading a mystery/thriller! I loved Avery, she’s the perfect character to take on the challenge of Hawthorne House and its inhabitants. The supporting characters are just as interesting and engaging and the plot is non-stop thrills spiced with secrets, puzzles (and I love puzzles), romance and riddles! I’m so happy this is a series, I'm already excited for the next book! Bring on the shenanigans!

Thank you to Little, Brown Books for Young Readers and Jennifer Lynn Barnes for providing me this book in exchange for my review!

View all my reviews

Wednesday, September 23, 2020

Review: Dear Child

Dear Child Dear Child by Romy Hausmann
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

“I can fetch the stars from the sky. And one day I know my children won’t just see all of this through my eyes and my stories. That is hope and it’s in my power to ensure it never dies.”

Dear Child is one of the most chilling thrillers I’ve read in a while. The reality of this happening was forefront in my mind the entire time I was reading; it’s been on the news, after all and Lord knows, there’s enough nutjobs in the world to do something like this! The actuality of stories I know combined with the nightmarish fiction from Ms. Hausmann had me on edge throughout the whole book and I loved every second!

When Lena goes missing, her father Matthias never stops looking for her. He counts the days she’s been gone; he follows up non-stop with the police, the newspapers, anything to keep her story relevant and unforgotten. Fourteen years later, he gets a phone call, Lena’s been found and is in the hospital. What follows is a compelling and truly horrifying tale of psychological terror.
Dear Child is strong in both character and plot; the captor, known only as papa, is as chilling as they come, abusive and controlling, and clearly, insane. ‘Lena’ is a victim but she is stronger than she thinks and manages to escape but does she really? Will she escape one tormenter only to torment herself? Is her captor really gone? The children, 13-year-old Hannah especially, have personalities born of such abuse and terror and there’s points in the book when I truly don’t know who to trust anymore. The details are skillfully put together and beautifully well written, everything connects and flows seamlessly between narrators. The plot has some fantastic red-herrings and twists that took me by surprise and the ending? Oh. My.!

This is all I’m going to say besides READ THIS if you enjoy psychological thrillers and suspense! My thanks to Flatiron Books, Romy Hausmann, and NetGalley for providing a DRC of Dear Child in exchange for my review.


View all my reviews

Tuesday, September 22, 2020

Review: Skyhunter

Skyhunter (Skyhunter, #1)Skyhunter by Marie Lu
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Skyhunter by Marie Lu is such a solid start to an exciting new series! Everything I love about dystopian fiction is depicted in this strongly character driven & compelling story.

First, the world-building is spectacular! In a post-apocalyptic setting, the Federation is dominating all Nations, winning by sending in mutant human hybrids called Ghosts. They are fierce killing machines that have the ability to turn their victims in to a Ghost with a bite. Mara is the last Nation that the Federation hasn’t been able to invade. It has a unique class setting; Strikers, the elite force that are trained to kill Ghosts and are intensely loyal. Then there are the refugees who are not allowed inside of Mara’s walls yet able to set up stands in the market outside and live in ramshackle homes. Then we have the insanely wealthy that look down on the refugee’s even as they adopt their lifestyle and food choices.

Then there’s the compelling cast of characters! Talin, our main character is a mute refugee who gained a place as a Striker thanks to her Shield (each striker has a shield, sort of a protector when they’re fighting). She is quietly badass and loyal to Mara despite the fact that her mother isn’t allowed in to Mara proper. Her fellow Strikers, Adena and Jeran play a huge supporting role in Skyhunter and I quickly became invested in their stories, too, each of them is loyal, smart, and quite possibly the best type of friend to have in a world fighting an intense evil. Red is the mysterious prisoner that Talin saves and he is a conundrum for the Striker group, he’s from the Federation but what is his motivation to cross in to Mara? Talin risks her position, not only as a Striker but as a Maran, to save him. Will he be worth it?

The plot is tight, there’s action and suspense and a fair amount of atmospheric creepiness. The narration is done by Natalie Naudus, she has such a pleasant and harmonious voice that captured the essence of Talin beautifully.

I think this is a solid start to what will be a fantastic series. Now, to wait for book 2!

Thank you Macmillan Audio for the gifted ALC.

View all my reviews

Monday, September 21, 2020

Review: The Nesting

The Nesting The Nesting by C.J. Cooke
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

“Once upon a time I thought that I’d be better off dead.”

The Nesting by C.J. Cooke is incredibly atmospheric and deeply rooted in Nordic folklore and culture. It is at times a thriller and at times a horror with supernatural elements and a deeply gothic setting. Set in the forests of Norway in the deepest part of winter, it follows Lexi who in a moment of desperation, steals Sophies identity and resume in order to obtain a position as a nanny in order to explore her imaginary roots there. Lexi isn’t in the best mental health; she recently attempted suicide, is suffering from depression and is just off from a long-term relationship. She is fragile, heartbroken and her decision making isn’t at its strongest (clearly) but when she arrives to assist widower Tom with his two daughters, she makes the best of it until the supernatural element starts to rear its supernatural head. Tom’s wife, Aurelia has just recently passed, the assumption is suicide but is it? There’s an interesting cast of characters aside from Tom, Lexi, and Aurelia; all who play excellent supportive roles, the most interesting is nature itself within Norway, the Fjords and the forests, and what may be hidden there pushing back against industry.

I really enjoyed The Nesting for all its chilling haunting ambiance but also because Cooke’s writing is vivid and imaginative; she builds up a sense of dread as the pages turn and the addition of Nordic folklore and superstitions was the cherry on the top. The past and present retelling from both Lexi and Aurelia gives unique insight and tied together similarities between the two women. There are some amazing plot twists and the pacing is perfect for the creepiness of the story.

Thank you to Berkley Publishing Group and NetGalley for providing me with a DRC in exchange for my review.

View all my reviews

Sunday, September 20, 2020

Review: What She Found in the Woods

What She Found in the Woods What She Found in the Woods by Josephine Angelini
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I am a lover of thrillers; it doesn’t matter if they are YA or adult or if I’ve seen the trope before. I’ve read all of Josephine Angelini’s YA fantasy books and loved them so when I saw that she was writing a YA thriller? Yes. Please.!

What She Found in the Woods has everything I look for in a thriller. Suspense, mystery, red herrings, unreliable narrator, lies and manipulation. Magdalena is a girl with a dark shameful past but this is all revealed slowly and cleverly through Magda’s journal entries and her real-life revelations. After spending the last 9 months in a mental hospital, Magda is released to her shallow grandparents in the Pacific Northwest. She spends the majority of her free time in the surrounding forest at a spot that is calming to her. This is where she meets Bo, a wild and beautiful boy that she feels an immediate attraction to. But Bo has secrets, too.

The pacing was perfect, moving along with clever plot twists and reveals, never really giving anything away until the end. The guessing throughout of other characters agenda’s or motivations is one of my favorite things about thrillers. I was never quite sure who Magda should trust or if she was trustworthy herself, even though I was really drawn to her as a character.

There are some delicate social issues within the book; drugs and drug dependency, mental illness and the stigma that goes with it. The lack of support from friends and loved ones in these settings or the manipulation of someone who is in just such a situation, is soul-crushing.

This is a four-star read for me and I think that anyone who enjoys the genre will definitely enjoy What She Found in the Woods.

View all my reviews

Thursday, August 6, 2020

Review: Harrow Lake

Harrow Lake Harrow Lake by Kat Ellis
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Harrow Lake by Kat Ellis is a unique thriller with serious horror story vibes but also addresses some delicate social issues.

Lola, the daughter of famous horror film director, Nolan Nox, is sent to Harrow Lake, the town where his most famous movie was filmed after Nolan is brutally attacked. Harrow Lake just happens to be the place where the mother who abandoned her, Lorelei, grew up and was cast as the movies lead. Sent to stay with a cold and unfriendly grandmother that she doesn’t know, Lola discovers that Harrow Lake is a town full of secrets and superstitions that are eerily similar and strangely related to the movie, Night Jar that was filmed there.

The movie and book monster, Mr. Jitters reminded me of every scary thing that hides in the dark or under my bed, never quite sure what it is only that it’s the scariest thing you’ll ever see and sure to drag you off and eat you! Yikes! The plot is really fast moving and the last 30% of the book flew by as an anxiety provoking, edge of you seat, what in tarnation’s going to happen situation. The atmosphere is creepy and almost surreal, the characters interesting with some surprising developments along the way.

If you’re looking for an entertaining YA thriller that skillfully blends in bone-chilling horror and suspense, Harrow Lake is a great choice!
Thank you to Penguin Teen and Kat Eliis for gifting me a DRC of Harrow Lake in exchange for my honest review!
CW: References to suicide, violence, and incest.


View all my reviews

Thursday, July 23, 2020

Review: They Wish They Were Us



Gossip Girl meets One of Us Is Lying with a dash of The Secret History in this slick, taut murder mystery set against the backdrop of an exclusive prep school on Long Island.

In Gold Coast, Long Island, everything from the expensive downtown shops to the manicured beaches, to the pressed uniforms of Jill Newman and her friends, looks perfect. But as Jill found out three years ago, nothing is as it seems.

Freshman year Jill's best friend, the brilliant, dazzling Shaila Arnold, was killed by her boyfriend. After that dark night on the beach, Graham confessed, the case was closed, and Jill tried to move on.

Now, it's Jill's senior year and she's determined to make it her best yet. After all, she's a senior and a Player--a member of Gold Coast Prep's exclusive, not-so-secret secret society. Senior Players have the best parties, highest grades and the admiration of the entire school. This is going to be Jill's year. She's sure of it.

But when Jill starts getting texts proclaiming Graham's innocence, her dreams of the perfect senior year start to crumble. If Graham didn't kill Shaila, who did? Jill vows to find out, but digging deeper could mean putting her friendships, and her future, in jeopardy.

TITLE: They Wish They Were Us
AUTHOR: Jessica Goodman
PUBLISHER: Penguin Teen
PUBLISH DATE: August 4, 2020
GENRE: YA Thriller 
PAGES: 336

They Wish They Were Us by Jessica Goodman
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

“They say only the good die young, but that’s just a stupid line in a song we used to sing. It isn’t real. It isn’t true. I know this because Shaila Arnold was so many things – brilliant and funny, confident and wild. But honestly? She wasn’t all that good."

THEY WISH THEY WERE US by Jessica Goodman is a well-crafted mystery/thriller about 8 freshman students at Gold Coast Prep, each looking forward to their senior year where they’ll rule as Players. The Players are the most elite students and an exclusive group, which comes with the privilege of a handy app that provides access to everything they need to guarantee college admission, along with a whole slew of other benefits. When Graham kills his girlfriend Shaila at the end of freshman year, they’re down to six Players. The Players all believe that Graham killed Shaila but when Jill, a Player and Shaila’s bestie receives a strange text from Grahams sister, stating he’s innocent and she needs Jill’s help in proving it, the mystery and thrills kick in high gear!

Jill is the narrator and is the best protagonist, she showed so much growth throughout the book, going from a fairly shallow mean girl to having actual depth; questioning herself and others around her. Nikki, another character shows growth, too, and that’s always a great thing in a book that I hope they’re will be a sequel to.

The plot takes off right from the start, it had me guessing and then guessing again. There are some great twists and red herrings, making me suspicious of more than one of the characters. Jill reflects back on freshman year quite a bit so we get to know Shaila through Jill’s eyes and the rest of the supporting characters, who aren’t always very likeable but Ms. Goodman does this seamlessly and its information that is relevant to the story.

They Wish They Were Us is an engaging mystery/thriller and I’ll be looking forward to the next in the series.

Thank you to Penguin Teen and Jessica Goodman for providing me with a DRC of They Wish They Were Us in exchange for my honest review.


View all my reviews

Monday, July 20, 2020

Review: The Heatwave by Kate Riordan







"A sultry, gorgeously written and hugely atmospheric thriller with a dark, compelling mystery at its heart."-Lucy Foley, New York Times bestselling author of The Hunting Party and The Guest List

Under the scorching French sun, a tense homecoming unearths a long-buried family secret in this deliciously propulsive beach read of a mother's greatest fear brought to life.

Elodie was beautiful. Elodie was smart. Elodie was manipulative. Elodie is dead.

When Sylvie Durand receives a letter calling her back to her crumbling family home in the South of France, she knows she has to go. In the middle of a sweltering 1990's summer marked by unusual fires across the countryside, she returns to La Reverie with her youngest daughter Emma in tow, ignoring the deep sense of dread she feels for this place she's long tried to forget.

As memories of the events that shattered their family a decade earlier threaten to come to the surface, Sylvie struggles to shield Emma from the truth of what really happened all those years ago. In every corner of the house, Sylvie can't escape the specter of Elodie, her first child. Elodie, born amid the '68 Paris riots with one blue eye and one brown, and mysteriously dead by fourteen. Elodie, who reminded the small village of one those Manson girls. Elodie who knew exactly how to get what she wanted. As the fires creep towards the villa, it's clear to Sylvie that something isn't quite right at La Reverie . . . And there is a much greater threat closer to home.

Rich in unforgettable characters, The Heatwave alternates between the past and present, grappling with what it means to love and fear a child in equal measure. With the lush landscape and nostalgia of a heady vacation read, Kate Riordan has woven a gripping page-turner with gorgeous prose that turns the idea of a summer novel on its head.
 

TITLE: The Heatwave
AUTHOR: Kate Riordan
PUBLISHER: Grand Central Publishing
PUBLISH DATE: August 18, 2020
GENRE: Thriller, Mystery
PAGES: 352


The Heatwave by Kate Riordan
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The Heatwave by Kate Riordan is a haunting mystery that is slow to reveal itself but so worth the wait. I loved the tense family drama that takes place in the dilapidated old home of La Reverie – “To Dream” - in the South of France. When Sylvie and her teen daughter, Emma are summoned back to La Reverie, we find out that Sylvie had an older daughter, Elodie, and from the moment they arrive, Elodie’s presence is known in a haunting and elusive way.

The atmosphere is tangible, a beautiful setting, a decaying old home that is seeped in memories with a landscape that is spectacular in its beauty and glory. It was easy to transport myself there and immerse myself in to the story. The characters are fascinating but Elodie herself the most fascinating of all; smart and beautiful but so very troubled. Her relationship with Sylvie is difficult at best and there are secrets to be revealed in the book that I’ll leave the reader to discover.

I’m keeping this short because I think this is a book that the reader should go into blind. Know this, though, do not be misled by the gorgeous breezy summer cover. The Heatwave has depth and complexity along with being a twisty slow burn thriller.

Thank you to Grand Central Publishing for gifting me a copy of The Heatwave in exchange for my review.


View all my reviews

Thursday, July 16, 2020

His & Hers by Alice Feeney


There are two sides to every story: yours and mine, ours and theirs, His & Hers. Which means someone is always lying.

Anna Andrews finally has what she wants. Almost. She's worked hard to become the main TV presenter of the BBC's lunchtime news, putting work before friends, family, and her now ex-husband. So, when someone threatens to take her dream job away, she'll do almost anything to keep it.

When asked to cover a murder in Blackdown--the sleepy countryside village where she grew up--Anna is reluctant to go. But when the victim turns out to be one of her childhood friends, she can't leave. It soon becomes clear that Anna isn't just covering the story, she's at the heart of it.

DCI Jack Harper left London for a reason, but never thought he'd end up working in a place like Blackdown. When the body of a young woman is discovered, Jack decides not to tell anyone that he knew the victim, until he begins to realise he is a suspect in his own murder investigation.

One of them knows more than they are letting on. Someone isn't telling the truth. Alternating between Anna's and Jack's points of view, His & Hers is a fast-paced, complex, and dark puzzle that will keep listeners guessing until the very end.

TITLE:  His & Hers
AUTHOR: Alice Feeney
GENRE: Thriller, Suspense, Mystery
PUBLISHER: Flatiron Books
PUBLISH DATE: July 28, 2020
PAGES: 384
FORMAT: Audiobook (Narrators Richard Armitage and Stephanie Racine), DRC

REVIEW

His & Hers by Alice Feeney

My rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I was able to both listen and read His & Hers by Alice Feeney thanks to the generosity of Macmillan Audio, Libro.fm, and Flatiron Books. I’m really grateful for this because I only listen during the day and I read at night. I had a hard time turning His & Hers off so being able to transition over to a DRC and continue my fascination with this thriller was much appreciated!

There are three narrators in this story; Anna Andrews, her ex-husband, DCI Jack Harper and the killer themselves who uses a voice modulator so we are unable to ascertain their gender or anything else about them. Anna is a BBC reporter investigating a murder of a woman in the countryside village of Blackdown where she and Jack grew up, also where Jack now resides and works as a DCI. Things get a bit hairy when it turns out they both knew the victim and each had a fairly dodgy history with her. The story alternates timelines but does so in a way that gives insight in to the personal history of the characters involved. As more murders occur with Anna and Jack tied to the victims, it’s a race to find the killer before they strike again. One thing is certain, nobody can be trusted.

Fast paced with strong affecting characters and a twisty plot, His & Hers is a compelling read from start to finish. The complexity of the story adds to its allure and had me suspicious of everyone.Richard Armitage and Stephanie Racine are perfect as narrators of Jack and Anna, the pacing is perfect and their voices a delight to listen to. The voice modulation of the killer is perfectly creepy and sent chills down my spine! Another fabulous story by Alice Feeney!


View all my reviews

Tuesday, July 7, 2020

Every Bone a Prayer by Ashley Blooms

















































































































































































































































































































TITLE: Every Bone a Prayer
AUTHOR: Ashley Blooms
PUBLISHER: Sourcebooks Landmark
PUBLISH DATE: August 4, 2020
GENRE: Magical Realism, Adult Fiction
PAGES: 368

The Lovely Bones meets Where the Crawdads Sing in this remarkable debut set in Appalachia

In her rural Appalachian holler, ten-year-old Misty's closest friends are the crawdads. Misty can speak to them, to the birds, to the creek, to everything outside, and she understands how they think. She knows that if she could just speak to her parents in the same way, she could stop all the fighting. But it's too hard.

Strange things start to happen in the holler. When her friend William takes their friendship too far, Misty's need to connect is greater than ever, but it's hard to talk about what you don't understand. This is the story of one tough-as-nails girl whose choices are few but whose imagination is boundless, as her coping becomes a battle cry for everyone around her -- a beautifully honest exploration of healing and hope.

Every Bone a Prayer by Ashley Blooms
My rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

“She learned that everything had a name. Not the name that most people knew them by, but something different, an underneath name made of sounds and memories and feelings, a name that shifted and grew and evolved.”

Lyrical and mystical, Every Bone a Prayer is a brutal and honest look at 10-year-old Misty’s struggle against a soul-crushing trauma in the rural Appalachian holler where she lives with her mother and older sister. This book is unlike any book I’ve ever read; it is a disturbing story but the author has steeped it with magical realism and old mountain folklore that is written so eloquently that every sentence resonated with me on a deeply emotional level. Misty is a character that I won’t soon forget, wise beyond her years, she is both wounded and strong and forever embedded in my heart.

“She’ll wish for those years of forgetting, wish for a time when she didn’t remember her body like this. But the memories will keep surfacing in dreams and in shudders.”

While the story has heartache within its pages, I also found an equal amount of joy. Ms. Blooms seemed able to capture me at every moment, whispering to my soul like Misty’s crawdads in the creek or the tree’s that told stories in their deep gentle voices. This is not an easy story to read, there is abuse and violence but there is also love and light to be found, too.

Thank you Sourcebooks Landmark and author Ashley Blooms for providing a copy in exchange for my review. 


View all my reviews

Monday, June 29, 2020



It’s fall 2007. A well-timed leak has revealed that the US government might have engaged in first contact. Cora Sabino is doing everything she can to avoid the whole mess, since the force driving the controversy is her whistleblower father. Even though Cora hasn’t spoken to him in years, his celebrity has caught the attention of the press, the Internet, the paparazzi, and the government—and with him in hiding, that attention is on her. She neither knows nor cares whether her father’s leaks are a hoax, and wants nothing to do with him—until she learns just how deeply entrenched her family is in the cover-up, and that an extraterrestrial presence has been on Earth for decades.

Realizing the extent to which both she and the public have been lied to, she sets out to gather as much information as she can, and finds that the best way for her to uncover the truth is not as a whistleblower, but as an intermediary. The alien presence has been completely uncommunicative until she convinces one of them that she can act as their interpreter, becoming the first and only human vessel of communication. Their otherworldly connection will change everything she thought she knew about being human—and could unleash a force more sinister than she ever imagined.

TITLE: Axiom's End
AUTHOR: Lindsay Ellis
PUBLISHER: St. Martin's Press
PUBLISH DATE: July 21, 2020
GENRE: Science Fiction
PAGES: 384

REVIEW
⭐⭐⭐⭐
“Truth is a human right.”

I am so glad I stuck with this one! Axiom’s End was just a little hard for me to get in to at the beginning but once I got past the initial set-up and frenetic pace, it was harder to put down!

The world-building is remarkable; the Alien politics and societal structure is pretty fascinating and for a speculative fiction exploring a first contact scenario, I was intrigued by Lindsay’s view on an alternate 2007! What left the biggest impact on me is the relationship between the two main characters, Cora, a not always likeable human and Ampersand, an alien being that I freaking adored! Watching this odd couple friendship develop was unexpected and so satisfying, despite the fact that Cora didn’t have many redeemable qualities. On the flip side, it was kind of refreshing to have a main character that wasn’t drop dead gorgeous or the best at everything she did. Cora is flawed & floundering, she has her own trauma but, in the end, Cora’s relationship with Ampersand had a sense of realism that I enjoyed.

Stellar debut to a promising series! Looking forward to what’s next from Lindsay!

Wednesday, June 24, 2020

Review: Three Single Wives by Gina LaManna

Three Single Wives An addictive second novel from the author of Pretty Guilty Women

A trio of women break bad after after too much wine, too many secrets, and too perfect inspiration from the bestseller they discussed at book club. No one is exactly sure what happened when night fell, but in the morning there's one dead body and three women with a lot to lose.

During their book club meeting the previous evening, these women somehow began discussing the ways they might bury the body of an unfaithful husband. Of course, it was nothing more than a joke. None of them would ever mistake these plans as reality...

However, at brunch the next morning, the women are alarmed by a visit from the police announcing that a man is dead…in a way eerily similar to the previous night's best laid plans. Did one woman take everything a step too far, or is the truth really more twisted than fiction?



TITLE: Three Single Wives
AUTHOR: Gina LaManna
PUBLISHER: Sourcebooks Landmark
PUBLISH DATE: September 1, 2020
GENRE: Thriller
FORMAT: DRC
PAGES: 368

Three Single Wives by Gina LaManna
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Three women, two of them married and one deceased tool of a husband with literally every character having a motive to murder! This is the plot of Three Single Wives by Gina LaManna and I loved every second of it! I’d spend one chapter of the book thinking one of the characters was most certainly the murderer only to change my mind in the next chapter. Guessing, guessing, and more guessing as I turned the pages! As I’ve said before, if you can keep me guessing, you’ll keep me reading and more than likely make me a fan for life!

Each chapter starts with a court transcript of the Prosecution questioning the woman the chapter is narrated by, which is one of three women the story follows. I’ll forgo rehashing the summary, you can read this on your own. The characters are finely tuned and emotive, each with their own back history making them vulnerable to the murder victim. The plot is tight, it is twisty and it wraps up beautifully! The ending left me with a deeply satisfied sigh that I don’t always get in some of the more open-ended books and I’m left to my own conclusions. Three Single Wives is a clever thriller with a mystery at heart and I look forward to reading more from Ms. LaManna.

Thank you to Sourcebooks Landmark, Gina LaManna, and NetGalley for providing me with a DRC of Three Single Wives in exchange for my honest review.


View all my reviews

Thursday, June 18, 2020

The Good Luck Girls by Charlotte Nicole Davis



Westworld meets The Handmaid’s Tale in this stunning fantasy adventure from debut author Charlotte Nicole Davis.

Aster, the protector
Violet, the favorite
Tansy, the medic
Mallow, the fighter
Clementine, the catalyst

THE GOOD LUCK GIRLS

The country of Arketta calls them Good Luck Girls―they know their luck is anything but.

Sold to a “welcome house” as children and branded with cursed markings.

Trapped in a life they would never have chosen.

When Clementine accidentally kills a man, the girls risk a dangerous escape and harrowing journey to find freedom, justice, and revenge in a country that wants them to have none of those things. Pursued by Arketta’s most vicious and powerful forces, both human and inhuman, their only hope lies in a bedtime story passed from one Good Luck Girl to another, a story that only the youngest or most desperate would ever believe.

It’s going to take more than luck for them all to survive.

TITLE: The Good Luck Girls
AUTHOR: Charlotte Nicole Davis
PUBLISHER: Tor Teen
PUBLICATION DATE: October 1, 2019
FORMAT: Print
GENRE: Young Adult Dystopian
PAGES: 352

MY REVIEW
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

The Good Luck Girls (TGLG) is a distinctive story set in a uniquely built world (think dystopian wild west) that I literally devoured in a day! The story centers around five girls, Good Luck Girls, who have been sold by their families to a Welcome House which is anything but welcoming to the girls that come there. As children they arrive as Daybreak girls, they are given a Favor – a magical type tattoo that grows as they age and then forced into manual labor until the age of 16. Once they reach their 16th birthday and their favor has fully bloomed, they will have their Lucky Night and are sold at auction to the highest bidder for the night. Then they are officially a Sundown girl, entertaining the Brags (insert Johns here) every night until they age out and then are usually cast out in to the street to starve. This brings us to our five girls:

“Sisters by chance. Outlaws by choice. Aster: The Protector, Violet: The Favorite, Tansy: The Medic, Mallow: The Fighter, & Clementine: The Catalyst.”

Clementine and Aster are sisters by blood. Aster has been a Sundown girl for over a year and when Clementine’s Lucky Night arrives something happens that sets all five girls on a harrowing trip across the Scab, the harsh wilderness of fictional Arketta where the story is set. With the Welcome House’s henchman, the Reckoners on their trail, they have to keep one step ahead and when they meet Ezekiel, Zee, a Rangeman with his own secrets they form a group of unlikely allies. It’s not just the Reckoners they have to worry about, although these soulless men are paid to keep each girl in line by invading their mind with their deepest terrors, there are also Vengeants, ruthless spirits drawn to suffering that will rip a person apart with their claws. It’s a dangerous place and they’ll need their wits about them to survive the trip to find the mysterious Lady Ghost, rumored to be able to remove the magical favors that mark the girls.

The world building in TGLG is phenomenal, truly a different world yet similar to ours in many ways. There is oppression and poverty, and times when I felt a sense of overwhelming despair & hopelessness for their situation and yet, the powerful force of sisterhood and courage between the group prevailed in these times, giving me a sense of hope. The characters are beautifully developed and I became emotionally invested in them. The majority of the story is told by Aster and she is a powerful character but flawed with anger by her harsh life.

“But anger … anger gets things done. Sometimes, at least. You just have to make sure you’re using it, and never the other way around.”

I cannot wait for the next book!